Coaching Excellence Awards

Tickets on sale now for the
2015 Ontario Coaching Excellence Awards!

Saturday, September 19, 2015
Varsity Theater
Manulife Centre, 55 Bloor Street W
Toronto, Ontario

Breakfast – 9:00am
Ceremony – 10:00am

Get your tickets today!

Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate an amazing coach in their community. The response was fantastic and we can’t wait to announce the winners. Check back here for more information about winners!


Know a community level Coach who instills a life-long love of sport in their teams and athletes?
Or a Coach who’s an innovative thinker, pushing the envelope and inventing new approaches to old challenges?
Why not nominate them for a Coaching Excellence Award!

The Ontario Coaching Excellence Awards Program celebrates the dedication and commitment of exemplary individuals who inspire, innovate and share knowledge of sport with others. The Awards recognize the importance of leadership, performance and the value of human insight which are all integral to great coaching.

This year the Awards will be held on September 19th in Toronto. Details about the ceremony to follow, so keep checking back!


Nominate an awesome Coach in one of 5 categories


Grass Roots (1 Male, 1 Female)

Coaches recognized in this category are inspirational role models in the community.  The coaching focus would be on introducing children and youth to a sport, developing fundamental movement skills while creating a positive environment for healthy development and instilling a life-long love to be physically active and stay involved in sport. A coach in this category would measure their daily success in the number of smiles achieved.


Good-to-Great (1 Male, 1 Female)
The coaching focus is on performance excellence and competing to win.  The coach would be recognized as the primary coach who identifies talented individuals; who creates a training environment that further develops athletic skills and abilities to a higher level of success in competition over a period of time.

Trailblazer Coach
The Trailblazer coach is an innovative out-of-the-box thinker who inspires others to follow and has made a difference in their sport or for their athletes.  Whether coaching a community rep team or top performing provincial athletes, the coach who pushes the envelope, invents new approaches to old challenges and breaks through barriers should be nominated for this award.

Everyone Matters Coach
The “Everyone Matters” Award recipient has influenced the culture of their team, organization or community by embracing diversity . Over a sustained period of time they have demonstrated the value of an inclusive approach through acceptance and accessibility. Examples in this category include success in reaching out to and actively welcoming different genders, different age groups, newcomers to a sport program or a coach who successfully integrates athletes with a disability into the program.

Andy Higgins Lifetime Achievement Award
An outstanding coach who has made a significant contribution to coaching in Ontario over a long sustained period of time—20+ years.  Andy Higgins, an Olympic decathlon coach, an educator and all around good human being, has devoted his lifetime to instilling positive values, citizen development and making a difference in people’s lives through sport.  A coach who dreams big, looks for the possibilities, and focuses on a lasting legacy would be an ideal award recipient in this category.

School Sport Coach – Selected by OFSAA ……………………           ……………  

The selection of recipients (1 Male and 1 Female teacher-coach) is based on their unique contribution to sport through continuous development of new coaches. The nominated coach must have influenced the development of new coaches and have shown evidence of program building as well as encouraging athletes to give back to sport. .Deadline for nominations in this category is May 25, 2015. Please click. here .for the nomination form, and send by email to Shamus Bourdon at. .or by fax to (416) 426-7317. Email or call Shamus at (416) 426-7440 for more information.

Deadline for nominations has been extended to August 7, 2015. Please fill out the nomination form below, and send by email to. Brooke Rosenfeld at. .or by fax to (416) 426-7331.
Email or call Brooke at (416) 426-7001 for more information.