CAO and Hydro One announce 2021 Coaching Excellence award recipients

  • September 15, 2021

TORONTO – September 15, 2021 – To celebrate the 7th annual National Coaches Week, which runs from September 18-26, the Coaches Association of Ontario (CAO) will recognize 10 coaches from across the province with the highest coaching honour at the 2021 Ontario Coaching Excellence Awards. National Coaches Week highlights the positive impact coaches have on athletes and the role they play in building safe communities by saying #ThanksCoach.

Through the continued Safe Sport 101 partnership between the CAO and Hydro One:  

  • One coach will be awarded with the Hydro One Safe Play Award 
  • All award recipients will be provided with funding to purchase sporting goods from local Canadian retailers of their choice
  • 46 coaches from 36 communities across the province will receive a Return to Coaching Community Grant, for tools and resources they need to get back to playing sports safely in-person

“We’re so proud of all our award recipients and the positive impact each of them have on and off the field with their athletes and communities. And as we continue to recover from the pandemic we know coaches play a vital role in ensuring sports remain welcoming, safe, positive and engaging for all participants,” said CAO’s Executive Director, Jeremy Cross. 

“At Hydro One, we’re energizing life by supporting local coaches who play a critical role in building resilience, confidence and leadership skills in athletes across the province,” said Jay Armitage, Vice President, Marketing and Communications, Hydro One. “Participation in sports, especially during this challenging time, helps athletes maintain their mental and physical well-being, and we could not be more proud to help coaches and athletes as they safely return to in-person sports. Congratulations to all award recipients, and thank you for the important work you do in your communities to make sports safe, fun and inclusive for all.”

The awards are hosted by two-time World Champion, Olympian, TV Host, Author and Sports Broadcaster, Perdita Felicien. Tune into the live online broadcast on Friday, September 17 at 7 p.m. at

The 2021 Ontario Coaching Excellence Award winners are:

  • Matthew Aslett – Male Grassroots Coach Award – Oakville
  • Jessica Brown – Female Grassroots Coach Award – Brampton
  • Colin Ward – Male School Sport Coach Award – Sudbury
  • Kelly Gouveia – Female School Sport Coach Award – Brampton
  • Joel Hazzan – Male Good to Great Coach Award – Dunrobin
  • Dallas Price – Female Good to Great Coach Award – Toronto
  • Abderrahim Moussa – Everyone Matters Coach Award – Orleans
  • Zak Lewis – Hydro One Safe Play Award – Ottawa
  • Jordan McFarlane – Susan Kitchen Trailblazer Award – Toronto
  • Darlene Joseph – Andy Higgins Lifetime Achievement – Orleans

For more information about National Coaches Week across Ontario visit

For more information about Safe Sport 101 and the full list of the Return to Coaching Community Grant recipients, visit

For further information: Eric McLoughlin, Senior Lead, Events & Partner Development, Coaches Association of Ontario, Email:, Tel: 416.426.7005; For further information: Hydro One Media Relations 24 hours a day at 1-877-506-7584 (toll-free in Ontario only) or 416-345-6868

The 2022 Stars of Coaching Are Announced!